T.A.L.L. Program Schedule January-April 2019

T.A.L.L. Program Schedule January-April 2019

No Cost Computer Classes & Open Lab Sessions 

Daytime – Open labs held at Tioga Career Center (TCC), Rte 38 Owego: Mondays & Thursdays. Call TCC for schedule 607-687-8483

 Evenings – Owego Middle School (OAMS) Room 225, Sheldon Guile Blvd, Owego

Call the Literacy Volunteers office, (607) 778-6406 to pre-register

*In the event of inclement weather – if O-A Schools are closed both labs will close*

Date Description of Course, Workshop or Open Lab Time  
Monday January 7

Monday January 21

Monday, February 18

Thursday April 11

Lab reopens for January to April session

Lab closed Martin Luther King Observance 

Lab closed Presidents Day Observance

OAMS Lab closes for O-A Spring Break, reopens Tuesday April 23, 2019

Choose either session,                     6-8 pm

Jan 8, 9, 15, 16, 22, 23, 29, 30 

Feb 5, 6, 12, 13        (or) 

March 5, 6, 12, 13, 19, 20, 26, 27,  

April 2, 3, 9, 10                                             

Basics of Microsoft® Windows 7, Microsoft® Word & Excel

A comprehensive 6 week course in the basics of Windows, an operating system. Instruction on how to organize files & folders using Microsoft Word 2016, create & format documents, and learn Excel 2016 to set-up spreadsheets, input data, enter simple formulas, format & modify spreadsheets. Great for beginners & intermediates.

Jan 7, 17, 28 

Feb 4, 11, 25 

March 4, 11, 18, 25

April 1, 8                                        5:30-9 pm

 Open Lab 5:30-9 p.m. evenings at OAMS room 225 (2nd floor)

Come in and access high speed internet, practice keyboarding, format (type) your resume, or utilize any of the Microsoft Office programs. Staff available to assist students.  TCC Mon. 10am-1pm, Thurs. 2-4 pm – call  Tioga Career Center for info 607-687-8483

Choose any session:

Thurs, Jan 24,  OAMS Rm 225, 6 pm

Thurs, Feb 28  OAMS Rm 225,  6 pm

Mon, March 4 TCC,                   11 am

 

“Tips for Navigating a Job Fair” 

Prepare for the Tioga County Job Fair 3/6/2019 This important one hour

workshop is designed to provide a necessary checklist for job seekers looking to attend a job fair. NOTE – workshops held both at TCC and OAMS lab sites.

Choose any session

Thurs Jan 10, Thurs Feb 14

Thurs April 4

6-8 pm

“Using E-Mail Effectively” Whether you have never used e-mail, or would like practice using your e-mail account, this workshop will cover all the basics. Students will learn how to use web-based e-mail for business or personal use, and practice sending attachments, use thumb drives, send pictures and more. Hands-on instruction.
Choose any session:

Mon Jan 14 

Tues Feb 19

Thurs March 7                                 6-8 pm

Applying for Jobs Online Looking for employment? Have questions navigating web sites when applying for jobs? This workshop will offer tips on how to apply for jobs online, with hands on practice. For both novice and experienced job seekers.
Choose any session:

Thurs Jan 31, Thurs Feb 21,                      

Thurs March 28                              6-8 pm

 

“Social Networking – Using Facebook”: Learn how to use this popular social media site. How to set up an account, build your profile, add pictures, likes & comments. Do you know how to keep your profile private? This workshop will further explore the use of settings, privacy and account management. Bring your questions!
Attend both evenings:

Tues Feb 26 & Wed Feb 27      

                                                              6-8 pm  

Basics of Microsoft® PowerPoint    Work with PowerPoint, a program designed to create and give presentations. Basic knowledge of Microsoft Word is helpful, but not required. Students will be able to create a presentation by the end of class.
Thurs March 14                        

Thurs April 11                          6-8 pm

Basics of Microsoft® Publisher Work with Publisher, a visually powerful desktop publishing program.  Create cards, newsletters, fliers, business publications, holiday greeting letters, resumes, etc.  
Choose any session:

Thurs Feb 7, Wed Feb 20, 

Thurs March  21                           6-8 pm

“Resume Success” Have a resume that needs updating? Or need help creating one? Learn the necessary tools in learning how to format or update your own resume!